Godwin Obaseki

According to a report by The PUNCH, there was jubilation in the Situation Room of the Peoples Democratic Party in Benin as its candidate in the Edo State Governorship Election, Godwin Obaseki, maintained the lead.

This is according to results announced so far by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

In a video that surfaced online on Sunday, officials in the situation room were joyful.

Some of them were seen shouting “4=4” and “4+4”.

The video also showed the officials, including Obaseki, clapping as results trickled in.

The PUNCH had reported that Obaseki recorded more votes from the results of the 13 Local Governments declared so far by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

With two additional local governments’ results announced by INEC, the PDP still has the highest number of votes.

However, the All Progressives Congress recorded more votes in the two LGAs.

At Akoko Edo LGA, APC had 22,963 votes while PDP got 20,101. Also, at Etsako East LGA, APC polled 17,011 and PDP 10,668 votes.

Obaseki is leading Ize-Iyamu by a margin of over 76,000 votes.

Although 17 political parties fielded candidates for the election, it is a two-way race between APC and PDP.

Incumbent Governor Obaseki of PDP ran against APC candidate, Osagie Ize-Iyamu.

Obaseki was elected on APC’s platform in 2016 but defected to the PDP after being denied the ticket owing to intra-party squabbles.


The election held in 18 Local Government Areas, 192 Wards, and 2,627 polling units.


1) Igueben LGA

PDP 7,870

APC 5,199

Total 13170

Total votes cast 13,382

Election materials snatched in Ward 8, Unit 2

2) Esan North-East

APC 6,556

PDP 13579

Valid votes 20,369

Total votes cast 20,730

3) Esan Central

APC 6,719

PDP 10,794

4) Ikpoba Okha

APC 18,218

PDP 41,030

5) Uhunmwonde

APC 5,972

PDP 10,022

6) Egor LGA

APC 10,202

PDP 27,621

7) Owan East

APC 19,295

PDP 14,762

8) Owan West

APC 11,193

PDP 11,485

9) Esan South-East

APC 9,237

PDP 10,565

10) Ovia North East

APC 9,907

PDP 16,987

11) Etsako West LGA

APC 26,140

PDP 17,959

12) Oredo LGA

APC 18,365

PDP 43,498

13) Esan West

APC 7,189

PDP 17,434

14) Akoko Edo LGA

APC 22,963

PDP 20,101

15) Etsako East LGA

APC 17,011

PDP 10,668


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here